Simply Stangl

You ever buy something for someone else and then have trouble giving it away? Well, I’m having that trouble right now. I found this bowl …

c360_2016-10-08-19-05-57-979-collage-3
Stangl Blue Bowl Basin 12″

 

It’s really a basin I think, by Stangl (no “e”) Pottery. I bought it for the store but I’m having a tough time letting it go. I love the color and shape; the scroll handles and the simplicity of the design. It may stay with me awhile, but that’s ok, too.

s1
Stangl Magnolia Pattern China Warmer (available at Vintage Eve’s)
s2
Stangl Teapot circa 1950s

This is not the first piece of Stangl pottery I’ve found. I have a bit of it in the shop like these pieces above with the Magnolia pattern. I sold the teapot awhile ago. Stangl is a pottery that has been around since the late 1920s but it wasn’t until 1955 that it officially became Stangl Pottery.

s3
Stangl Gold Shell Dish (available at Liv Vintage)

Johann Martin Stangl, the founder, actually started working at Fulper pottery as a ceramic engineer in  1910. Kovels.com says that he left Fulper from 1915 to 1920 to work at Haeger pottery but returned to Fulper in 1920.

s4
Stangl Pottery Kay Hackett Design Ginger Cat (available at bopiG)

In 1926 he became president of Fulper and changed the name at that point to Stangl Pottery. But as I said above, it wasn’t officially changed until 1955. Not sure why but that’s the story!

s5
Stangl Art Vase Cornucopia (available at Yesterday and Tomorrow)

The Stangl Pottery website says that Stangl was responsible for the first “open stock solid-color dinnerware.” The original factory was located in Flemington, New Jersey with a second smaller factory built near it also in Flemington. They then acquired a larger facility that was already running in Trenton, NJ, giving them 3 working factories.

s6
Stangl Pottery Plates Tangerine, Yellow & Blue (available at Perfect Yesterdays)

Well, they did until the original Flemington factory burned, so then there were 2 factories. They didn’t bother to rebuild a third. The one in Trenton was fairly large. According to the Stangl Pottery website, the other Flemington factory then became a retail showroom during the 1930s and was not a production facility after that. It was one of the country’s first retail outlets! On a busy week, the showroom saw more than 1,000 patrons.

s7
Stangl Art Pottery Bird (available at Betsy Collection)

The company did well. Their hand-carved, hand-painted dinnerware was a favorite, as was their artware and bird figurines. They were sold in over 3,000 department stores, gift stores and more.

s8
Stangl Square Plates (available at Planet Artifact)

Stangl Pottery did well from the 1940s until the early 1970s. When Martin Stangl died in 1972 the pottery was sold to Frank Wheaton Jr., of Wheaton Industries. Kovels.com says that production continued until 1978 when Pfaltzgraff Pottery purchased the right to the Stangl trademark and all remaining inventory was liquidated.

s9
Stangl Gravy Boat in Golden Harvest (available at Matchmaker Matchmaker)

I always find it interesting to see the progression of a company and, especially in America to see how intertwined these companies all are.

s10
Stangl Leaf Dish (available at Rebekah’s Retro)

Whether I sell that lovely bowl or basin (or whatever it is), or keep it for myself, I will have owned a piece of American history. A company that lasted through the Great Depression and numerous wars through hard work and dedication to the craft of creating items that we use everyday. I just love this stuff!

I will be partying all week at the link parties on the right. Check them out – so many great blogs, so little time!! Have a great week!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Simply Stangl

  1. This was a great selection of Stangl…just to show how they adapted and diversified in order to stay in competition. Really love their birds, I have had a few slide through my fingers over the years and I wish I had kept them. Neat post, love the history…Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great history, Rheta. I’ve owned and sold several Stangl birds and some of their dinnerware. I was unaware of some of the more modern designs that they made–I like it! Thanks for sharing your post with us at Vintage Charm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

